Haunting

A few years after a close friend died, I dreamt she visited me. We had a long conversation, catching up. I don’t remember all of what she said but there were some complaints about lack of internet and cable connections in Heaven. I do recall that I asked her why it had taken so long for her to visit and she told me that it took that long for her to learn how to transition onto the mortal plane, how to visit in dreams.

My cat died last year, 8th Dec., but she began to fail … or rather, when we began to notice that she wasn’t feeling well. Last week, while I was alone in the kitchen, doing something on the computer after dinner, I heard the sound of a litter box being used and I smiled – forgetting for a moment in the distraction. (No other cats and there’s no cat litter downstairs to scratch.) This morning I was lingering in bed, unwilling to get up, and I felt the pat … pat … pat of a tentative but determined paw on my leg, urging me to rise.

I can find “logical explanations” for both instances but why should I? The comfort the thought brings is worth any amount of “logic”.

Leave a comment